BGM 2019 (24th-25th April, 2019.)

DAY ONE (24th April 2019) :

A Five (5) Unit CPD/CME (Continuous Professional Development / Continuous Medical Education) which was free for members and an Opening ceremony was held.

Theme: Emerging trends in communicable diseases; Multi Drug Resistant Tuberculosis (MDR-TB) as a case study.

Subtheme: Standard operating procedures in the management of viral hemorrhagic fever.

Guest speakers were

  • Dr. Olufemi O. Ayodeji, the Chief Infectious Disease Control Officer at FMC , Owo.
  • Dr. Osman El Tayeb, country representative, Damien foundation Belgium , Nigeria.

Dr. Olufemi Ayodeji lucidly spoke on the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) in the management of viral hemorrhagic fever, while Dr. Osman ElTayeb’s lecture was all encompassing on the management of MDR-TB and XDR-TB.

Our invited guests impressively honoured us with their presence

The State Executive Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu was ably represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Hon. Ifedayo Abegunde.

Other special guests present were

  • Dr. Ayinla Abubakar, National President NAGGMDP
  • Dr. Kolade Solagberu, Chairman NMA Kwara state
  • Dr. Suleiman
  • Dr. Wale Oke, Chairman NMA Ondo State
  • Dr. Durojaye, PS Ministry of health
  • Dr. Wahab Adegbenro, Hon. Commissioner for health, Ondo state.

The SSG graciously performed the foundation laying ceremony of the proposed Secretariat of the Ondo State Branch of NAGGMDP and also brought good will messages from Mr. Governor.

BGM proper, Election and Luncheon.

DAY 2, 25th April , 2019.

The BGM proper was presided over by Dr. I.I. Busari and was well attended. After hours of fruitful delibrations and important resolutions made, the State Officers Committee led by Dr. Busari was dissolved and an electoral committee comprising Drs. Adekolurejo O.S. and Alewi O.A. presided over the electoral process.

The following officers emerged as the new executive members for the next two years

  • Dr. Oluwafemi Abidemi AINA …..Chairman
  • Dr. Babatope ADEGUNLEYE ….. Vice Chairman
    Dr. Tunde Joseph OLASAKINJU … General Secretary
    Dr. Adetayo ADENIYI …. Asst. General Secretary
    Dr. Ayotolu AJAYI …. Treasurer
    Dr. Chiedozie MOGBO …. Financial Secretary
    Dr. Akinwale BODUNWA … Welfare Secretary
    Dr. Oluwagbeminyi KEHINDE ….PRO

The newly elected officers were sworn in at the luncheon amidst pomp and funfair.

The event has since been reported on TVC News Channel.


Dr. Aina O.A.

Dr. Olasakinju T. J.